About the Lion Program

The Lion program weaves traditional Scouting concepts of character development, leadership skills, personal fitness and citizenship into activities that are age-appropriate and fun for the boys and their parents.

The activities introduce the family to Cub Scouting, and provide an exciting way for the little guys to explore the world around them. The program will fuel their imagination, creativity and fun as they experience the growth Scouting can provide. At the end of the Lion year, they β€œgraduate” to Tiger and advance through Cub Scouting.


The Lion Cub Scout uniform has the following parts:

  1. Shirtβ€”The official Lion t-shirt.

  2. Beltβ€”Official navy-blue web belt with metal buckle.

  3. Capβ€”Official navy-blue Lion cap.

  4. Neckerchiefβ€”Optional Lion neckerchief. The Lion den decides if they will wear the neckerchief.

  5. Neckerchief slideβ€”Optional Lion neckerchief slide.

Official uniform pants, shorts, or skorts, and Cub Scout socks are optional. Use of these items for Lions is decided by the den leader and families in the den. There is no uniform inspection sheet for Lions.

Lion Requirements

The Lion rank is earned by completing five adventures as described below.

  1. Complete the five required adventures:

    • Lion’s Honor

    • Animal Kingdom

    • Mountain Lion

    • King of the Jungle

    • Fun on the Run!

  2. With your parent or guardian, complete the exercises in the pamphlet entitled How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide.

Outside of the requirements, Lion Scouts can also complete any number of seven elective adventures of their den’s or family’s choosing. Se below for an ordered listing of all required adventures. Once a Lion has completed all required adventures, a crossing over ceremony will be held at the end of the year where they will pass over to the next rank, Tiger.

Source: www.scouting.org