About the Tiger Program

A child who is 7 years old or is in the first grade is a Tiger, and their adventures are found in the Tiger Handbook.

A 7 year old or child in the first grade joins Cub Scouting with their parent or adult guardian. Tigers and their adult partners are just that, partners. They attend meetings together, go on adventures like field trips together, and complete requirements together.

A Tiger first works on earning the Bobcat badge. After completing the requirements for Bobcat they go on to complete the requirements for the Tiger rank and the many electives that are offered.


The Tiger Cub Scout uniform has the following parts;

  1. Shirtβ€”The official blue uniform shirt is available with long or short sleeves and has button-flap pockets.

  2. Pantsβ€” Shorts, long pants, skorts, and roll up pants all are in official blue.

  3. Beltβ€”Official navy-blue web belt with metal buckle.

  4. Socksβ€”Official socks are available in three lengths: ankle, crew, and knee. Tiger socks have an orange band on the top.

  5. Hatβ€”Official blue hat with orange front and Tiger emblem.

  6. Neckerchiefβ€”Orange triangular neckerchief with Tiger logo. Official BSA neckerchiefs are the only neckerchiefs that are part of the uniform.

  7. Neckerchief slideβ€”Official gold-tone metal slide with orange Tiger emblem. Cub Scouts may wear handmade neckerchief slides.

Tiger Requirements

First graders work toward the Tiger rank. The Tiger rank is earned by completing seven adventures as described below. Although participation with an adult partner is required for all Tiger awards, recognition items are for the Scouts only.

  1. Complete each of the six required adventures:

    • Games Tigers Play

    • My Tiger Jungle

    • Team Tiger

    • Tiger Bites

    • Tiger Circles: Duty to God

    • Tigers in the Wild

  2. In addition to the six required adventures, complete at least one elective adventure of your den’s or family’s choosing.

  3. With your parent, guardian, or other caring adult, complete the exercises in the pamphlet entitled How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide.

  4. Earn the Cyber Chip award for your age. (The Cyber Chip portion of this requirement may be waived by your parent or guardian if you do not have access to the internet.)

Once a Tiger has completed all required adventures, a crossing over ceremony will be held at the end of the year where they will pass over to the next rank, Wolf.

Source: www.scouting.org